Career, Nonprofit

What Are Dreams Made Of?

Setbacks. Or as I’m trying to think of them, detours.
Needless to say, I haven’t followed through on my intention of quitting my job and saving the world by day while waitressing by night…

What Could Have Been

What stopped me? You know – the usual evils… Fear… Money…

I was literally sitting at my desk researching the proper way to write and submit a resignation letter when my boss called me into his office to tell me I had received a RAISE. Such news doesn’t normally evoke feelings of anger for people, but it certainly did for me. You see, I had already accepted that quitting a stable job (with generous benefits) in this economy and job market was impulsive at best and downright stupid at worst, but walking away RIGHT after receiving an extra 10% on my salary would make me THAT MUCH more impulsive and/or stupid. Like most right now, I have many many bills to pay, and as much as I would like to, I can’t scoff at extra money coming my way. So, I’m still here. And unfortunately, the appreciation for the extra money each month doesn’t quash the need I feel to find my calling and make a difference.

So I’m on the hunt, recommitting myself to stalking Idealist, Mashable, Mediabistro, and Twitter. Oh, and this blog? It’s back, so please let me know if you have advice and/or suggestions!

Standard

Leave a Reply

